CMC Foundation Board Elects Five New Board Members

CONWAY, SC– Five new members have been elected to the Conway Medical Center (CMC) Foundation board of directors.  New board members elected to three-year terms are George N. Magrath, Jr., Susan Mungo, Delan Stevens, Heather von Herrmann, and Dr. Srinivas Vuppala.

Members of the CMC Foundation board are highly qualified community, corporate, and civic leaders who share a passionate belief in the power of philanthropy to help enhance and support the health and well-being of the citizens in our community.  The CMC Foundation board of directors provides organizational leadership and oversight, and guides the Foundation’s work utilizing their individual talents and expertise.

“We are fortunate to have such talented leaders join our foundation board,” said Terry Egan, Executive Director of the CMC Foundation. “Each of these new members bring with them their own unique professional experiences and interests which have shaped their perspective and objectivity.  There is no doubt that with their participation and that of our current members, the CMC Foundation will continue to do great things for our community!”

About the board members

George N. (Buddy) Magrath, Jr. is managing appraiser of Magrath Appraisal Services, Inc.; a firm that provides commercial real property appraisal services in Horry County.  Including his work in the appraisal industry, he has over thirty-five years of experience in banking and real estate in the Grand Strand area.  He has been active in the community including service on the Board of Trustees of Conway Medical Center, past chair and member of the Board of Directors of the Conway Housing Authority, member of the Board of Trustees of Kingston Presbyterian Church and past chair and past general campaign chair of the Horry County United Way.  He has a bachelor of sciences degree in Financial Management from Clemson University and a Master’s Degree in Business Administration from the University of South Carolina.  He lives in Conway with his wife Cindy; and they have three children and six grandchildren.

Susan McNeill Mungo is a public relations specialist at Santee Cooper where she has been employed since 1989. Mungo is a native of Horry County who grew up in North Myrtle Beach and currently resides in Conway. She has an Associate Degree in Electronic Engineering from Horry Georgetown Technical College and a BA from Coastal Carolina University.  Mungo has volunteered her time on Boards and raising money for The American Red Cross, Fostering Hope, Collin’s Kids: The David Bennett Foundation, and was a steering committee member for the CMC Foundation’s Kingston Golf Classic.

Delan Stevens is a long time resident of Conway, graduating from Conway High School in 1975.  He attended Coastal Carolina University where he graduated in 1979 with a degree in political science.  Stevens is the president of Peoples Underwriters and devotes a significant amount of his time in service to his community.  He was the first vice-president of the Conway Chamber of Commerce and has served on the board of trustees for Coastal Carolina University and the board of directors for Horry Telephone Cooperative.  Stevens is adamant that his greatest accomplishment is his marriage to wife, Lynn G. Stevens.

Heather von Herrmann is a 1991 graduate of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and the University of South Carolina School of Law in 1994.  She was admitted to the SC Bar in 1991 and has since practiced in the areas of both criminal and family law. She served as a judicial law clerk to the Honorable Steven H. John and was previously employed as a Senior Assistant Solicitor in Horry County where she focused primarily on high level cases.  She is also highly experienced in trying drug related and DUI cases and, having conducted training and taught numerous law enforcement seminars on these, possesses extensive knowledge of both.  Von Herrmann’s primary focus now is on complex family court cases and she is also certified as a Family Court Mediator.

Srinivas Vuppala, MD, FHM received his Bachelor of Science from the University of Akron in Akron, OH.  He then earned his Doctor of Medicine from Northeastern Ohio Universities College of Medicine in Rootstown, OH.  Dr. Vuppala completed his residency and chief residency in internal medicine at Ochsner Clinic Foundation in New Orleans, LA.  Dr. Vuppala is Board Certified by the American Board of Internal Medicine and is a Fellow with the American College of Physicians and the Society of Hospital Medicine.  Dr. Vuppala formerly held the office of associate program director for the Internal Medicine residency at Ochsner Clinic Foundation and has been published in five medical publications.  He currently serves on multiple committees at Conway Medical Center including the Medical Executive Committee and Critical Care Committtee.

The CMC Foundation is a not-for-profit corporation established in 1988 as a charitable organization to provide support for Conway Medical Center.  Resources for the Foundation are obtained from donations, memorial gifts, planned gifts, grants, special events and other resources.